Prawning nanaimo-gabriola

Salty

I'm starting this thread to share prawning experiences including bait, depths, traps, pullers, and anything else prawn related to give some new ideas for the experienced and inexperienced alike. Please feel free to weigh in with any info your willing to share.

I'm relatively new to prawning but have learned a lot from forums like this and the good folks that post on them. From my limited experience, I've found that my favorite way to bait my traps is to crush up the prawn pellets and soak them in ace of baits prawn scent overnight, I then mix in a half can per bait cup of Carlyle just tuna cat food and put mixture in bait cups about 2/3s full. This lasts nicely for 2, 3hr sets. I've only ever used the ss round stacking traps, and they work well when your on the prawns. Best pull so far this summer was 120 prawns in 2 traps off gabriola in 330ft of water. I will also say to those of you with ace Brutus pullers, if you haven't yet purchased the bulldog accessory, get it! It has been the best $70 investment I could make. Makes pulling and nicely coiling the rope very close to hands free and makes it a no brainer to bring traps every trip. I'm interested in some feedback from guys that use the round and square traps on what you prefer and why.

Pawning