Prawn hauler blows up the fuse

capman

I’m fairly new to pawning and used my new Ace Lime Hauler only twice. Both times, half way through pulling the robe the fuse blows up. I have 2 batteries in the boat and both working fine powering all other devices.
I appreciate any feedback as what I’m doing wrong or what am I missing here so I don’t have to pull another 200’ of remaining line by hand.

what size wire and fuse? Scotty downriggers have a 30 amp fuse, but lots of guys up it to 40 amp when using the Ace Line Hauler. With that said, I've never blown a 30 amp fuse with 12 ga wire. I pull 450' of lead line with two weighted traps.

what size wire and fuse? Scotty downriggers have a 30 amp fuse, but lots of guys up it to 40 amp when using the Ace Line Hauler. With that said, I've never blown a 30 amp fuse with 12 ga wire. I pull 450' of lead line with two weighted traps.

Ya this...make sure you don't just run the ace hauler continuously, i run ours for about 50' then give it a 15 second break, seems to help anyway. Or upgrade to 40a fuse with appropriate sized wire.

Great feedbacks. I think I’m using a 30A fuse. Not sure what size wire I have so need to find out. Will try everything mentioned.

Thanks so much for quick responses. What an awesome community we have!

I have have the same problem blows a 40 amp 10 gauge 8 ft run from battery. I switched to a breaker style fuse so when it blows I wait a couple of minutes and it resets I’ve learned to live with it. I’m only pulling 2 traps 500 ft of rope and about 12 lb of weight

A good buddy set it up for me running the Ace max torque and haven't had one fuse blow all last winter 12-15lb per trap... 40 amp block fuse with that marine
white 10 gauge wire, with the fuse closer to the battery.. 500' non stop pulling sets ..

Max torque Ace is very slow with 12 gauge wire when i did a test on the rigger plug side

Last edited: