Okuma mooching rod - use as centrepin?

TipUp

I have an okuma celico mooching rod that I was wondering if it can be used as a centrepin rod? It a 10'6" rod with a medium action. Ideally I'd pair it with a an okuma reel. Just trying not to break the bank as I'm just getting into using a centrepin.

I use 10'6"-11' mooching rods for my center pins . Did buy a 11'3" fancy center pin rod years ago and a large steelhead broke it, took it back ( replaced)to have it happen again .:(

I've also used 10' 6" mooching rods with center pins. Give it a whirl, I think it'll be fine but you'll find out soon enough.

Thanks for the info. Any recommendations on a good reel to start out with? I've been looking at the Amundson tracker reel for $150

How does a fish break a rod? Generally a rod won't break unless it's bruised, or really old or had a flaw to start with and most manufactures weed out the flawed blanks because flawed rods breaking is bad advertising.

My first steelhead outfit was an old RichMade 10'6" moocher with one of my dads Seldex made by J.W. Young & SON. 3 1/2 in. reel, not a fast retrieve LOL. I progressed to an Avon Royal Supreme on the RichMade, had a lot of fun with that outfit. Now I use a level wind, I want to spend my time fishing not retrieving. But once in a while I have a Silex on an 12' Sage that I break out for some fun. I still have the Avon and it works like the day it was made, I'd sell it for $125.00, if you don't know what they are, look them up, their a solid reel.

Thanks for the info. Any recommendations on a good reel to start out with? I've been looking at the Amundson tracker reel for $150
My advice is get an Avon used. It's in your budget or if you want new try the okuma aventa. I've fished one for a season or two when all my nice reels were stolen to get me going again.

I would say the Avon is a nicer / better built reel and probably is going to work better with age as long as it’s been looked after.