new setup?

O

old steely man

Hi guys i was looking to get a new set up Islander centerpin reel and rod .What rod would you recommend with this reel.
Thanks guys.

Get your self an original Sage 3113MB blank and tie it up for the centre pin. I think Sage has even re-released these blanks for doing just that.

They are silky!

If you want a lighter version then go with the Sage 3113LB.

Course theer are a myriod of others , but that is a combination I am fond of. Great for Steelhead!

HL is right!!

dont think there is a better blank in the world
its my combo :D

my person opinion is the 3113MB

Definitely the perfect combo. I have been using the steelheader real for many years. My real serial # is 199.

Thanks Guys who sells those rods a how much do they run.

Did you guy's buy the blank and then get the rod made up or did you buy the rod already made.
Thanks for your input guys.

old steely man,

The 3113 MB is my choice as well. I think the blank itself costs about $200 to $300. If you want 1 build, I think they cost around $500 to $550. Sage also sells them pre-build as well. You might be able to get a used one around $350.00.

HS.

Shermanater

as soon as I get my wrapper you can custom make your own :) just like Graham's :D

just wish they made that 3113M in a 12'6 blank

Hi guy's i was woundering with the islander center pin reels do you have to put backing under the mono like you do with their mr2 reels?

roger that!!!if your gna run the standard 15lbs main,and buy the 220 yrd spool....yer gna need 2 fill er up 2{with what ever backing or mono}half way up 2 the most outer holes on the face of yer pin.....if that makes sence......fills er up right nice.............

shakes

Yeh fill it up my (opinion only) if the pin has more line, the bigger diameter on your spool, which will gives you a bit faster retrieve