New Islander Looking for tips on Non Salmon Seafood

Hi Everyone!
My wife and I are moving to Victoria (Langford) Sept 1st. I love seafood and fishing but we arent fans of salmonids or most trout. Whats the story about the bottom fish?
Total newbie when it comes to salt water so whats good eating?
Rock Cod
Ling Cod (I imagine these guys are similar to our ling cod/burbot from the praries?)
Flounder is obviously good
what else? Keep in mind I will be mostly a shore fisher man, maybe a kayak.

Crab: Dungeness is obviously king but what about other species like rock crab?

Dont know anything about eating bass, so whats that like?

How realistic is it to dig clams, harvest mussels etc? (I know there are many closures for shell fish etc...)

Thanks for any help and advice!
Tony Canevaro

Start here http://www.shorecaster.bizhosting.com/

There are a few fishing piers around the south Island that might be of use to you but most bottomfish are tough to fish from shore since they like rocky places-Flounder/Sole excepted.

There's also shore fishing Vancouver Island facebook group that someone told me about.

This book will help with Crabbing from your kayak his Bottomfishing book though is somewhat dated

51%2BD9%2BAjGtL._SX319_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Halibut is my favourite. Not many places where you'll get one from shore though.

I'm a former prairie boy as well, But I sold seafood to restaurants for 8 years so I have a bit of knowledge. Ling Cod here doesn't taste anything like burbot. Just strictly talking about eating and not catching I would rate them. Halibut, Ling Cod, Albacore Tuna, Sole, Snapper. Don't bother with Rock Crab not much meat or flavour. As far as shellfish goes it's cheap out here and a very regulated industry I would not risk getting sick by getting my own. Finest at Sea is a good place to buy as well as Cowichan Bay seafoods in the Hudson Market. Good luck with your move.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk