Looking for fishing advice for the great bear rainforest area

AlexT

I will be taking a ten day kayak tour through the great bear rainforest island chains near Bella Bella next August and I have no experience fishing in the area.

I was wondering if anyone could advise what kind of fish I should try for and what to use.

I will be fishing mostly from shore and occasionally from the kayak.

Thanks for any info you have!

20181112_210343[1].jpg It will be easy to troll a small Apex or Tom Mac spoon (or the equivalent) behind your boat and catch a Coho or Pink Salmon- concentrate wherever there's a lot of water moving around.

For Bottomfish lower a 2 ounce White coloured jig to the bottom in 40'-60' feet of water/or just off a patch of kelp and bounce it off the bottom slowly.

EDIT-you'll do much better out of the kayak shore fishing can be quite difficult because of heavy Kelp growth along the shore-beaches look attractive but don't hold a lot of fish-some Sole & Flounders if you have the patience to find them.

Attachments

• 20181112_210343[1].jpg
    20181112_210343[1].jpg
    491.1 KB · Views: 5
View attachment 41377 It will be easy to troll a small Apex or Tom Mac spoon (or the equivalent) behind your boat and catch a Coho or Pink Salmon- concentrate wherever there's a lot of water moving around.

For Bottomfish lower a 2 ounce White coloured jig to the bottom in 40'-60' feet of water/or just off a patch of kelp and bounce it off the bottom slowly.

EDIT-you'll do much better out of the kayak shore fishing can be quite difficult because of heavy Kelp growth along the shore-beaches look attractive but don't hold a lot of fish-some Sole & Flounders if you have the patience to find them.

Sounds good! Thanks for the info. I’ll pick up a couple of those spoons for sure.

Buy some Macdeep jigs and watch along beach for schools of bait as you paddle. Fish the baits balls for springs and coho. Look for bait in the backeddy bays.