Flasher and spoon wrapping around each other

uksf23

Hi I’m relatively new to trolling , when I bring one of my downriggers up to check the set up I get my flasher and spoon wrapped around each other in a mess . Any suggestions on what I’m doing wrong please

Jono

ok, first how far back from your release clip are you running your flasher and spoon, 2nd how long a leader are you using, are they new flashers,

More times then not I find this will happen for 1 of 2 reasons, 1 being you lowered the downrigger to fast for how you were moving, or 2 slowed down to much and maybe even went backwards abit because of the current or turned a corner to sharp, Ive had it happen a few times to me and most of the times it because one of those reasons...

Hope that helps!
Michael

What pound test are you using to connect the spoon & the flasher?

30# is minimum and twice that not too heavy.

As others have said above would be the questions.

Are you sitting in neutral bringing up your gear?

Are you dropping too fast? You should see the line bouncing as soon as you drop at that point.

I’m running 30lbs test with new flashers about 25feet from the release clip and the spoon is about 35-40” from the flasher , I’m also using swivels and never bring up in neutral , I may be dropping too fast I think . Thanks for all the advise will try and drop the line slower and see if that works .
Jono

I’m running 30lbs test with new flashers about 25feet from the release clip and the spoon is about 35-40” from the flasher , I’m also using swivels and never bring up in neutral , I may be dropping too fast I think . Thanks for all the advise will try and drop the line slower and see if that works .
Jono

make sure you’re in gear when dropping your flasher and spoon, so it blows back and away from your downrigger cable on the drop. also 25’ from the clip seems excessive. personally i only run about 15’ max , but i don’t think that’s your problem here