Evinrude - Opinions and what years (or all to be avoided)

Damien

Hey folks, I have my eye on a little 16' boat with a 115hp Evinrude. I have no experience with these motors, have had Merc and Yammy my entire life.

It is a 1997 and from what I can tell the problems with the FICHT models began in 1998 but i'm not totally sure.

Does anyone have experience with this vintage Evinrude (Johnson?) motor? I have heard the VRO labelled models where many people take out the VRO and premix. But again, this motor doesn't have either a VRO label nor a FICHT labe, no is it an "Ocean Pro".

It looks like this
20150310_161220.jpg

Lastly, any mechanics in the lowermainland that you know of that service these things? Between the expected reliability and access to service, this will drive my buying decision. Lake trial will happen this Tuesday...

The boat and motor are in very good visual condition, turned over instantly. Original owner's manuals for the boat/motor package bill of sale etc are in place. And I get overall good vibes from the seller, i'm just hung up on the Evinrude part of the equation.

Thanks in advance.

If it an ocean pro then it is carbureted and should be a typical 2 stroke outboard of that era. I had a 110 Evinrude that did 25 + years with a single rebuild. It will be a gas guzzler and use lots of two stroke oil, but it should be reasonably reliable if it was well maintained. I also had a 2000 Evinrude FICHT 200 V-6, I got 608 hours before it lost a cylinder due to a bad injector. My understanding is that the only years that were any good are the most recent and even those had a lot of problems.If it is a FICHT, I would recommend that you do not walk away from this motor, you should RUN.