Event: A Celebration of Herring - June 8th 7-10pm - Steveston Cannery

tincan

Herring event: Join the Heiltsuk Nation, Pacific Wild, and guests at the Gulf of Georgia Cannery in Steveston, B.C. for an unforgettable evening of cuisine, culture, and natural history - a multimedia event in support of herring conservation.
Proceeds from this event go to support herring conservation efforts in the Great Bear Rainforest.

http://pacificwild.org/site/events/1430842687.html

Anyone plan on attending this dinner / film / event tomorrow night?

[video=vimeo;128760730]https://vimeo.com/128760730

Attachments

• hawksworth-cel-of-herring-web.jpg
    hawksworth-cel-of-herring-web.jpg
    98 KB · Views: 89
I read an earlier article on this online. What I found a little unsettling was the mention of a lucrative roe on kelp fishery. I'm no expert but is the conservation plan really a conservation plan, or simply a shift in how and who harvests the roe. Seems to me both the fishery and roe on kelp harvest need to be stopped to be effective?

I read an earlier article on this online. What I found a little unsettling was the mention of a lucrative roe on kelp fishery. I'm no expert but is the conservation plan really a conservation plan, or simply a shift in how and who harvests the roe. Seems to me both the fishery and roe on kelp harvest need to be stopped to be effective?

the herring roe on kelp fishery lets the herring live on... not just kill the herring , take the roe, grind up carcass for fish farm meal.

OK , get that and it seems reasonable. So is the harvest of roe on kelp,well regulated and is the plan to stop a commercial harvest? If not its not really conservation , especially if its lucrative,because at the end of the day you are still wiping out the next generation and you know over harvesting will happen right? Am I being to sceptical?

Good questions, Ziggy - good answer trophywife.