downrigger extending arms

Fisherf

hello.
so i have been using extendable manuale DW's for the last three years and never bothered since recently to extend them.
Is it good to extend them?
when we went fishing with blue wolf he had his electric DW's extended for coho and spring fishing so after that we try'd extending ours and we did not notice much of a difference.

thanks, fisherf

I can't remember how big your boat is. I find on my small boat that if I extend them too far, when I bring one up, the boat will turn hard toward the one still in the water.
People extend them to avoid tangling the other side on turns, and to keep the line out of the propeller on turns or in a current. If you have never tangled your two balls, or got your downrigger in the propeller, I would leave them where they are. Having them closer in is safer because you don't have to reach out so far to clip on to the downrigger line. The fish won't care.

I have always had the arms fully extended & pointing out at 90 degrees from the sides - your 2 lures will be farther apart giving less chance of a tangle.
Major downside to this is that if you are short like me, working with the release clips is a pain. I rig my own release clips using 200b mono (easier on the hands) & long enough that I can clip-in the line; usually around 6 ft long.