Cooking prawns - whole or tail only?

Clipper

I'm new at this whole prawning business so have been reading everything I can find on cooking and freezing the tasty little critters and my question is - whole prawns in the pot or tails only? It would seem to me that keeping them whole would preserve more of the flavour but a lot of folks seem to de-head them before cooking.

All advice is welcome! :D

Both ways work from what I know. The heads are left on a lot of times more for presentation on the plate rather than anything to do with the taste. I do mine tails only but that's just me.

I do just tails as well....unless sometimes if I grill them. As mentioned above, the head is left on more for presentation...ie cooking for company.

For me....when eating them with the head still on......I find it to be a pain in the arse. :p

I also keep the prawn heads "uncooked" if I know I am going to be crabbing as they can make good crab bait.

My girlfriend always asks for a bag of the prawn heads to be saved now and then so she can make a stock as well.

to serve cold... no heads,, place tails in hard boil for 1.5 mins... STOP THEM FROM COOKING by throwing them all into a sink of cold running water, rinse a little, throw in the fridge, cocktail sauce= four tablespoons of hot horseradish/1/2 cup ketchup, four tblspn lemon juice, 1tbsp of habenaro hot sauce...mmmmmmmm. peel off 1/4 of shell (thick end) grab meat, squeeze tail, and pop.. yummy.

serve hot= 1/4 stick a butter, some garlic, a lil green currie if ya like or old bay seasoning.. get it really hot and flash em for about 1 min.

prawns peel way better also if they have been frozen or even partially frozen.

freeze them tail off or whole in water. i use recycled milk jugs, can fit a hundred almost in a 4 ltr jug with the head off.:cool:

The goop in the heads is best eaten raw-just slurped down-but it's very rich and doesn't cook all that well.