canning halibut

juandesooka

I am new to canning salmon. First batch over xmas nearly used up. I like the flavour (especially the smoked salmon / regular salmon mix), but really like the convenience...no defrosting or cooking if you want a quick snack.

So...wanted to try expanding the experiment to halibut...more convenience than anything to use up the fish in the freezer. Numerous internet sources have said not to do it because the halibut will dry out and be gross. But what the heck...

I did several combinations, all with a tablespoon of olive oil added to a medium size jar (to combat drying it out).

Halibut and smoked salmon: added about 1/4 of can SS, to infuse smoked flavour to hali. Tried first can, worked out well...tastes smokey, fairly moist. Not as moist as canned salmon but reasonable.

Rest still to taste...will post results as the cans are opened.

Half halibut and half salmon

Halibut with dill and garlic

Halibut with thai chili sauce

Mmmm :D

Update:

Halibut with dill and garlic: a little bland and oily, but the good news is, definitely not dried out. Very edible, but needs more flavour. I used the small jelly jars, with 1 tbsp oil...probably could use half that. I put in maybe 1/4 clove garlic, 3 or 4 shakes of dill...could double or more both. Adding lemon juice or lemon zest even better would give a bit of zing, take the oil edge off.

Halibut with thai chili sauce: most excellent! About a half teaspoon chili sauce (and that stuff is HOT). Fish is quite spicy, but not burn your mouth insane. Very tasty, not dried out, not too oily tasting (though same amount of oil as above.

Halibut/salmon mix: taste test coming soon.

But all in all, positive results, experiment a success!

Mmmm :D
[/quote]

quote:Originally posted by C.S.

I canned up ling,hally and yelloweye last year and they are all the $hits.Maybe I'll try again with the chili sauce.

Hi CS