Boat radar arch design...

zurk

I drew a rough sketch of what i wanted in a radar tower as shown.
Any comments - good/bad/negative/positive/ideas welcomed.
Looking to fit a Halo 20+ radar, 2 collapsible crab traps, 4 fishing rods and one searchlight. i might put a upside down mounted FLIR on it as well and CCTV camera for the rear as well, which will likely be below the searchlight mount and/or LED light bar if i need to.
i already have a place for the VHF antenna so not looking to put that on.
View media item 701

Is this on a KF 2025? I’m no expert but my only comment would be not wanting to reduce the dance floor from overhead with mesh net extension off the tower.

I have a 2025 and if money was no issue I’d be shopping with Who Dat towers as they build some beautiful towers with everything you need.

this is a kingfisher 1825. wanted to actual reduce the open to the sky area from the boat so i didnt want to go along the canvas soft top.reason for that is we find the open area more of a pain than any use. we do crabbing more than fishing so a large open fishdeck is not much use and the arch might allow us to extend the soft top further back towards the outboard side so we can use it more in the rain. The soft top is up 100% of the time anyway to avoid either sun or rain.
i am going with riptide marine since they (or at least their parent corp - express custom mfg) built my custom cargo trailer which turned out excellent.
View media item 702

Last edited:
I would consider bringing your rear support forward, on the same angle as the front one. When all welded up it will be plenty strong, and it will be easier getting into the boat from the sides. You can still have all the other things you want on there with a smaller footprint mounted to the boat.

Oly