Best Fillet Knife

Whole in the Water

I want to upgrade the fillet knife I use at home for seafood. I'm thinking of a knife with a thin blade that holds it's edge well. I think Rapala make a pretty good one (i.e. the one with the wood handle).

What other good quality fillet knives are out there???

Long live wild salmon!!!
><))))>

I use one called the "Fisherman's Solution" from Cutco.

I have 2 of them.....and thus far have been great. They have an extendable blade (6" to 9")...a sharpening stone right on the sheath and for my uses they have held an edge very well. I have one that I have been using for about 5 years and another still unused waiting to get it's turn into service.

https://www.cutcogiftregistry.com/GiftRegWeb/showGroup.do?groupId=5721

Only thing I wish it had built in was a "spoon" on one end; but that's more so for cleaning after the catch; not so much for home use.

It seems to get pretty good customer reviews too.

http://reviews.cutco.com/8804/5721/reviews.htm

Have you hugged a Gorby today??? ;P

I have four of the Rapalas and have been using them for what seems like forever. Two 7" and two 5". They have never let me down and I can get nearly ever bit of meat off my fish. The local cats hate me. I've had three other brands of knife and keep coming back to the Rapalas. They do everything I ask of them and then some, but knives a a personal choice, like girlfriends and boats.

Extinction is Forever

Got my first Rapala a couple months ago and love it. Got it for a song at a flee market to boot.

For home fillet/processing it is perfect, great blade and a nice ergonomic wood handle.

I do 99% of my fish processing with a Frost blade. You can get them from Redden net for about 25$, really great steel and easily gets a razor sharp edge.

untitled.jpg

Fill the dam tub!

Frost has my vote as well! Used them commercial fishing for years.......holds an awesome edge....Trotac has them as well.

quote:Originally posted by adrianna3