Battery Replacement

Whole in the Water

Not quite sure what to do. I have 2, 5 year old Interstate deep cycle batteries that have worked flawlessly on my boat using a 3 way battery switch selector. At rest one reads 12.60, the other 12.45 volts. According to the state of charge graphs 12.60+ volts is 100% charged state and 12.45 is about 75% charged.

So, should I replace just the lower charged battery and keep the other one for another season, or replace them both. I know that replacing them both is best, but I am trying to see if I can save some $$$ and I can keep them isolated with the battery switch.

Any recommendations?

Long live wild salmon!!!
><))))>

I'm by no means an expert...but if they're both holding a charge of >12 volts and are working flawlessly, why would you replace them? (maybe I'll learn something when some of the heavy hitters respond)

A new 12 V lead acid battery should read approx. 12.75 VDC in peak condition. This is the voltage a battery in excellent condition should maintain. Some may be slightly higher, some a little lower.
As your battery gets older it will loose a little every year.
Readings on a 12 V battery can be misleading to the unfamiliar. A 12 V battery reading 12.25 VDC on a digital multimeter is, for all intensive purposes, DEAD.

Testing a battery immediately after disconnecting it from a charger will also give you a misleading reading. This is not a true indicator of the batteries charge. Actually , if you connect a meter you can watch the numbers drop over a short period of time. The battery, if in good condition should become stable, depending on age, at a reading over 12.5 VDC. If your battery is close to the limit and is 4 or 5 years old, you might need to consider a new battery.

If you haven't used your boat for a period of time,