Bad fishing...or bad fishermen...?

Degree of Freedom

This will likely cause a stir...but I'm a bit tired of the whining.

Been reading in a lot of threads about how bad or average at best the fishing has been this year.
I can't speak for anything but the ECVI and early July Ucluelet, as that is all I have first hand experience with this year and I'm not one to post hearsay...
Myself and my small network of fishing acquaintances have had great years in areas such as ucluelet, Parksville, comox, Campbell river and areas in between.

Trying fishing techniques I've never done before, my season has been nothing short of incredible.
Granted the sizes haven't been great, but the numbers are fantastic.
You may ask if I'm having so much success why haven't I been posting reports?
Simple answer is I got tired of thousands of users taking information off this site while only a handful actually contribute useful information.

Two pieces of advice, take it how you will....

1) if what you're doing isn't working, try evolving...
2) be friendly with as many people who are better fishermen than you as you can, and pay attention

Great post DoF :cool:.

I haven't posted as much either this year due to all the negativity, hate, and selfishness posted on this forum.

My year has been a great one as well.

Cheers,
John

Last edited by a moderator:
I would like to suggest an addition to point#1.

1) if what you're doing isn't working, try evolving...or trailering your boat to ECVI.

Because that is where larger numbers have been, relative to the recent past. Where you have been fishing is the most important contributor to success. Location, location, location doesn't only apply to real estate.