Advice on battery replacement

Whole in the Water

Need to replace my boat batteries. One starting, one deep cycle. Price difference between Interstate and Canadian Energy is $7. Slightly better warranty and specs on the Canadian Energy batteries.

Anyone have any experience with Canadian Energy batteries, aka Canada Proof?

Who makes them?

I've always had good luck with Interstates. That's what I have been using for the last 10 years. Costco Kirkland brand is a rebranded Interstate and should be a bit cheaper.

I replaced two of my batteries last year with Costco batteries. Half the price of branded batteries and I understand them to be the same as Interstate batteries. No problems, just checked the electrolyte and no loss in 1 year.

One of my nephews works for one of the largest battery companies/wholesalers. As I understand it in BC, while their are many different brands, they are pretty much all made by the same two companies. It is the type, specs. and price that are important, not the name, although brands may have different warranties. I have also heard that some of the well known brand names may switch between these two companies as to which one is making their batteries at a given point in time. At least there is some competition between the manufactures.

Last edited:
Canada proof a great batteries. I use them on my boat. Starting a 20hp 4 stroke, gps, 2 downriggers and a fish finder never have a problem. I also have one to run my electric motor when lake fishing. Also a great discount if you work for Island Health.

I have had Kirkland batteries in the past and they are good, with a great warranty and return policy, but they have no more marine batteries in stock for the forseable future except for Optima's which I do not want at this time.