Access Restrictions coming to Furry Creek?

Pippen

I am posting this with the permission of Mr. Nicholls who started a thread over on FishBC with the following info. Not sure if this is the proper part of the forum....but it does seem appropriate to go in here.

Access Restrictions coming to Furry Creek?
Do your part to preserve parking and access to this public amenity.

I am a resident of Oliver’s Landing, a townhome development at Furry Creek along scenic Howe Sound. I thought that you may be interested in an action underway by our strata council that will impact on the general public, and other fisherpersons in the lower mainland.

Our Strata President, Mr. Richard Bennetts, has lobbied the Squamish Lillooet Regional District (SLRD) to restrict public access to the creek and oceanfront in Furry Creek because the fisherpersons are creating a nuisance, and “we recently experienced an invasion of people from outside the Furry Creek community to fish along our waterfront”. They have requested that the public parking and access to the waterfront be restricted to “residents and guests of the greater community” because “for six weeks the community withstood this invasion of our property and civil rights”. As well, they are lobbying to “close the fishery in East Howe Sound”.