5.9 cummins problems

C

catcher

Are there any diesel mechanics on here? My dodge is running rough and has a loss of power. Any ideas before I take it to the dealer?

Thanks

Question, when was the fuel filter last changed last?
Some 5.9s had a lifter pump issue.
Unless you are the mechanic checking this out we do not have much to go on. We would only be guessing and you know that is not good.
Do yourself a favor and take it to a diesel mechanic.
Hope that helps.:D:D

IMG_1445.jpg

I would guess either the lift pump has failed and now the injector pump has been damaged....or a bad injector(s)

Catcher, Is the poor running condition at idle or under load? do you have a boost pressure guage? Notice any difference in the exhaust smoke color/ odor?

untitled.jpg

Fill the dam tub!

I am a diesel mechanic and have worked on the B model Cummins over the years. Start off simple and check your basics. Air in (air filter) and fuel filters. When was your last service done including fuel filters? What year is your dodge? Is the engine chipped?

A common issue with the Cummins is lift pump failure which in time will take out the fuel injection pump. If you have your service work up to date and there is still and issue find a good diesel mechanic to troubleshoot the engine. Further tests like fuel pressure and boost will have to be checked to find the problem.

Reel Chaos