5.7 litre merc, reliable engine builders?

chadr

Hey guys, long story short my boat sank tied up to the dock at the lake last weekend. Still in with insurance and waiting on that, but I think my main engine will be toast, they are saying they won't cover my two year old 9.9 merc kicker. I am a diesel engine mechanic by trade and would look into rebuilding the main myself if it it salvagable. Kicker has already been run and I'm sure it will be fine with a carb cleanout. Just wondering about buying the whole thing back from insurance and going from there. Lots of options for drop in engines on line, just wondering if anyone has experience with good or bad rebuilds or drop in's? Engine was a 1994 carbuerated, just before they went fuel injected. I would look at both options, fuel injected or not. Thanks for any input

rebuild it if it not been run. salt is whats going to kill the wiring
but dry it all out you may find it all salvageable.
would invest in shore power and at least two bilge pumps
dead batts, no bilge pump
feel for you ....
had water in mine but not totally under but past the crank
had to flush oil twice and diesel it ....

I would buy a crate motor from GM. They are brand new not rebuilt and work beautifully in a boat. I put a 330 horse in my bosses boat and he loves it.

IMG_0860.JPG If you do decide to rebuild it "Scat Crankshaft" rotating assembly's are really nice and more affordable than buying rings and bearings and come with new bearings, rings, Pistons, connecting rods and crankshaft. Going to a 383 stroker over 350 if you want is very noticeable however keep your compression ratio around 8 to 8.5/1.
You can have your heads rebuilt however there are lots of options for aftermarket in both aluminum and cast iron with option regarding combustion chamber volume to fine tune your compression ratio to piston volume.