2020 Port Hardy Reports

Status
Not open for further replies.
We are looking at a Port Hardy trip in mid. September,We have allways come up in spring.
Any word on if this would be a good time for some activity.Northern Coho ? etc

Anyone got any updates? going to be heading up there this weekend for a few days and would love any pointers as this is my first time going to Port Hardy?

Fished last wknd at Edmunds rock was slow but we scratched up a few salmon,day before was on fire as it is any given tide or day up there.The wall has been hot as well so Summary is there are lots of salmon and its only gonna get better

Just back for our trip to port hardy. Put the boat in the water Thursday night and then headed to the cabin to get settled in. Friday morning we blasted to shuttleworth bay and hooked int 14 springs and managed to keep 5 after breaking a couple off and loosing some to sea lions. Decided to go drop the anchor for Hali but didn’t find any.

Saturday morning we decided we were going to check out the wall on the main land. Ended up only catching 3 small springs in about 3 hours so the boys were itching to get back to shuttleworth so I reluctantly pulled the gear and headed across passing by all the Premium bottom fishing holes... got to shuttle and could not even find one spring.

Sunday she was blowing a gale! But the boys wanted to go for it so we headed for the cape against my better judgement. After we got across the bar we were greeted with 8-10 foot swell with 4’ wind chop on top. Being the only boat out there I was reluctant to drop the gear but the boys wanted some salmon so down it went for a couple hours. We only managed one bite that didn’t stick. After I had enough we packed up and headed in to lucky limit out on ling and rock fish while fighting ridiculous wind. I didn’t see another boat all day and I have never been out on water like that and don’t think I ever will again... the straights water was more white then green...