2019 Port Hardy Reports

Discussion in '2019 Saltwater Fishing Reports' started by SFBC, Jan 1, 2019.

1. SFBC

SFBC Admin Staff Member

Post your 2019 fishing reports here!

meathook likes this.
  2. Mike1266

Mike1266 New Member

Hi guys, Planning a trip by end of April into May, is there any good fishing up there in that time?

It's my first time going up there this early in the year, and I'm hoping to hook into some Salmon, Rockfish, Lingcod and REALLY HOPEFULLY some Halibut.
    Is it too early for hali's at that time?

Also, how are the water conditions and the weather in April-May usually?

Thanks a lot

3. bottom feeder

bottom feeder Active Member

Serrengeti is fantastic were going in first week june lotsa everything water nice - they have never cancelled a charter

4. BearCove

BearCove Crew Member

Mike,

If weather cooperates you should have no problem catching some fish. Salmon will be the toughest as you will be a bit early for any solid numbers. That being said there should be some winter feeders around.

Lots of places to catch some rock fish and Lings, have a look at your charts and start bouncing some rock piles.

Should be some halibut in the area, not a ton of them but if you put in your time I don’t see why you would be able to find a couple

Best of luck!

5. Mike1266

Mike1266 New Member

Thank you BearCove,

I've done a little searching and it looks like Rockfish and Lingcod are closed until May, which made me a bit sad, but I guess that gives me time to focus on some salmon and halibut.

I read on many sites that the sand flats off the airport are a good place to fish for halibut. Does this mean they are in shallower water? or is it very far out from the airport? My boat isn't too big, so I'm wondering if it will

be a good idea to go too far.

6. Mike1266

Mike1266 New Member