2019 Port Hardy Reports

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi guys, Planning a trip by end of April into May, is there any good fishing up there in that time?

It's my first time going up there this early in the year, and I'm hoping to hook into some Salmon, Rockfish, Lingcod and REALLY HOPEFULLY some Halibut.
Is it too early for hali's at that time?

Also, how are the water conditions and the weather in April-May usually?

Thanks a lot

Mike,

If weather cooperates you should have no problem catching some fish. Salmon will be the toughest as you will be a bit early for any solid numbers. That being said there should be some winter feeders around.

Lots of places to catch some rock fish and Lings, have a look at your charts and start bouncing some rock piles.

Should be some halibut in the area, not a ton of them but if you put in your time I don’t see why you would be able to find a couple

Best of luck!

Thank you BearCove,

I've done a little searching and it looks like Rockfish and Lingcod are closed until May, which made me a bit sad, but I guess that gives me time to focus on some salmon and halibut.

I read on many sites that the sand flats off the airport are a good place to fish for halibut. Does this mean they are in shallower water? or is it very far out from the airport? My boat isn't too big, so I'm wondering if it will

be a good idea to go too far.

So it looks like I won't be fishing for any salmon while there.... coho is closed until June 1st and now chinook is closed as well. rocks and lings also closed until May. Looks like we can only try for halibut until the start of May.

How is lingcod and halibut fishing this spring? Is it worth making the long trip up island?

I don’t know if many that have been out yet with the non retention of Chinook it makes it tougher heading out for 1 long, 1 cod and 1 halibut.

My boats are still on trailers, most likely till early June.

That being said, there should be some fish to be had as it just opened up.