Missing prawn traps Finlayson Arm

Tips Up

Left 3 sets of prawn traps out yesterday. Got a call this morning from someone who found one of my bouys floating loose. (Thanks!) He said his traps had been pulled and vandalized.
He left my floats at marina for me so I picked up tonight and went looking for my other traps. The guy that runs goldstream launch said there has been issues lately.
I found one set in shallow and damaged. So I’m out 4 traps 2 sets of rope and a Scotsman with boat fender attached with my name and number.
call the number if you find my floats plz and beware in inlet right now.
Pretty disappointing. I’ve been prawning in the same spot for 20 years. Never had a problem. Bastards!

Mutilated was the word he used. Said weights and line weights stolen. He was on cell phone from water and I did not know him so short call.
I had Fairly new Bauer style traps with 300 ft of soft poly line with 25 ft of lead line to a scotch man and a boat bumper with my name and number. Nice set up so maybe that is why they were stolen.
The set left behind had a broken bungee on the door so I zapped it shut by one corner. Zap was still there and door was bent open to remove prawns. So I know it was pulled. I guess the broken door was not worth stealing.
The floats found loose had about 3 ft of line on them with a clean cut.

Last edited:
Unfortunately all it takes is one person to ruin it for everyone. That guy probably had his traps looted or stolen and is taking it out on everyone else.

This ^^^ pisses me right off. Pulling a guys traps are bad enough, but you gotta wreck his **** and steal the rest? WTF is wrong with people?

I have had my traps pulled before, I think I even posted a description of the boat years ago on here. I don't leave them anymore. Sit on them for an hour or two , have lunch, listen to some tunes or read. No more problems. Sad that a person has to do this but in saanich inlet it is the new normal.