Weather Conditions when crossing the straight

samba123

Hello fellas, I am new to the salt but have a number of years around boats and boating in freshwater lakes. I want to make several crossing from Vancouver over to the Gulf Islands in the next few months. In the limited time and experience that I have being on the salt around Vancouver Harbor, I find it difficult to predict how the winds and waves will be for the day from reading the environment Canada marine weather forecasts. The problem is I live 45-55 mins away from the nearest saltwater launches and so it makes it tough to trailer the boat all the way there to be disappointed with rough/bad weather conditions. This is my usual routine. The day before I check the marine weather forecast at 4pm, 10pm and also at 4am the following day. I combine that info with what I can get from the windy.com forecast. There have been days where I am find the straight to be horrible when the forecast calls for 5-10 knot winds or even light winds... Then there are days where the forecast is 15 knot winds but I hear folks here posting reports stating it's flat calm water over at the hump or out in the exposed areas. For those that are experienced at working these forecast models, can I ask you what should I look for in terms of forecast details and wind direction for crossing the straight?

Or is the marine forecast only as good as 50% and that's what we have to work with? I wish I lived close enough to the water where I could drive 5 mins down to the water's edge to look at conditions or look out my window...perhaps that'll be the retirement dream for some day in the future.

I would add “big wave dave” and use the live web cams to actually see what’s going on. Oh and also get a bigger boat or just take the ferry, jk.