2020 Victoria and Oak Bay Reports

Status
Not open for further replies.
Any good tricks for keeping bait on hook? I’m new at Hali thing and my bait keeps getting pecked off by, I assume, something too small to get hooked by size 12 circle hook I’m using. I wasn’t too successful with salmon last fall and nodda I could keep thru winter so only one head and chunk of salmon belly left. Thx in advance for any advice.

We picked up a hali earlier in the week in the South Constance area. 300', herring AND were checked by the police boat.
2 fishermen, unrelated and living in separate residences in a 16' boat.
They were very friendly. Asked for id and the usual questions but no mention of Social Separation.
They said they had check about a dozen boats in the area and were watching mainly for USA fishermen.
They also said they had only seen one other boat with a halibut on board.

Must have been a bit tough keeping 2m apart on a 16' boat

Any good tricks for keeping bait on hook? I’m new at Hali thing and my bait keeps getting pecked off by, I assume, something too small to get hooked by size 12 circle hook I’m using. I wasn’t too successful with salmon last fall and nodda I could keep thru winter so only one head and chunk of salmon belly left. Thx in advance for any advice.

Herring get's pickpocketed all the time. Octopus usually sticks around and is doggy fish proof sometimes. Also using a jig is a good idea, I like to keep three rods in the water, sometimes 4 as long as there is a bit of current.

Hey some great advice by all, I will try them all and definitely report back on my trip outcomes. Thanks a bunch everyone!