Should I buy a boat?

Afterimage

Hi everyone, I'm new here and looking for advice on whether or not to buy a boat.

I'm not very experienced in fishing but have gone 1-2 times per year over the past ten or so years. I always enjoy it and want to go more often and learn more. I'm thinking of getting a small boat for lake fishing, but I don't know if it's worth it for me. I'd be buying a small used boat and likely aluminum because I am towing it behind my hatch back. I think if I got my own boat I’d probably end up going 4 or 5 times per year, which I know is still not a lot but it would allow me to go more easily for more day trips and to visit new lakes. In the past I’ve always stayed at a fishing resort and rented a boat.

anyhow, I’m wondering if for the cost of the initial purchase and upkeep if it makes sense for me. I know it is really a matter of opinion but I’m looking for some perspective!

any advice on buying a first used boat is helpful as well.

thanks in advance
Lauren

I got my addiction from trout fishing. I started small with an inflatable that I’d blow up with a foot pump at a lake before sunrise and ended up adding a removable transom with a minn Kota trolling motor.

then I went for a 12’ aluminum and customized it with a paint job and all the goodies.

Then I had “the one that got away” my prized 17’ double eagle that I transformed into a sexy line tangling machine.

I don’t care if I can only fish a few months a year or can only fish for this species or that. I will boat again people, I WILL BOAT AGAIN!!!

ahem...(adjusts bow tie) yes you should.

I have a small aluminum boat. 14 footer. It’s fine in the ocean on calm days and it’s great for lakes (with a boat launch). I’ve owned bigger boats but this is perfect for my needs. Cheap to run and maintain, you can tow it with anything and you can easily fish lake or ocean.

The 14 foot tinny, in my opinion, is one of the most versatile boats out there.

I say go for it.