hewescraft as a first boat?

mryakker

Hi All, I'm fairly new to the west coast and even newer to the boat/fishing scene. I'm looking for a first boat to explore and fish sheltered areas around the lower mainland. I found a older Hewescraft Searunner (179) that has been kitted and turn key. It's running a 90 hp Honda 2001 engine that has been well maintained.

Does anyone have any experience with this model? I've been trying to look up specs for the boat but I can't seem to find much out there for the 179.

The things I like about the smaller aluminum:

- Easy to tow with a smaller truck
- low maintenance
- Take a little more abuse from a newbie driver
- Price point

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

I have a Hewescraft Ocean Pro 220 with a 135hp, and have fished the west coast of Van Isle for years, and as far north as Calvert Island. I like to camp on remote beaches and fish for 3-5 days. Twice I screwed up and it went dry on sandy beaches, without any hull issues (I would stress a lot if it was fibreglass). The boat has never let me down, despite being caught in bad weather. The worst was that 70 knot windstorm on labor day a few years back - I was camping in the broken island group at the time, and had to drive between Bamfield, Ucluelet, then Port Alberni in it! Six hours of stress, but no problems at all.

My friend has a Grady 228 with a 250 and the amount of extra fuel he burns running the heavier boat makes me cringe. That said, his ride is more comfortable than mine. I invested in a Shockwave seat which helps.

My dad has the Hewescraft Searunner 190, with a 115hp. You can definitely feel the waves and impact more in his boat, as it's 1000 lbs lighter. If you're fishing the Strait, and don't mind picking your weather, the 179 should be just fine for you. But if you want to fish worse weather, farther out, I'd try to upgrade to a used Ocean Pro 220.

I tow it with a F150, no problems.
No maintenance other than rinsing w fresh water.