Hypothetical

Status
Not open for further replies.

Spring-time

I wanted to get a sense of where we are as an angler community. So it was brought to my attention that someone clubbed a Chinook yesterday evening that was just a little over the 80 cm slot limit. It wasn’t clubbed as some sort of political protest it was just caught clubbed and run. Are we of the opinion now that there’s plenty of Chinook out there and don’t worry about it? OR do we believe that every Chinook is precious and the species needs our help to survive and any violation is a major “no-no”. I know as a business owner I am a little pissed off because nobody said anything at the time. I wasn’t there so this is antidotal evidence but I trust the source. So I am curious about how you all feel about this given our current climate. I’m as pissed off at dfo as the next guy, believe me, but I gotta be honest, this bothered me a little

I think 95% of anglers who follow the regs do so because it's the right thing to do, especially when there rhyme and reason to the regs...I know myself I have really started the change the way I feel about certain regs lately that just don't add up and just don't make sense. I'm certainly not reporting anyone if I see a slab get the wood shampoo...even if I may not be willing to chance it myself.

Around our parts we tend to mind our own business and expect our neighbours to do the same. But that’s the way things are around here. We might phone the neighbour now and again when we here some loud bangs and see if he needs an extra shovel but that would be about it.

I think 95% of anglers who follow the regs do so because it's the right thing to do, especially when there rhyme and reason to the regs...I know myself I have really started the change the way I feel about certain regs lately that just don't add up and just don't make sense. I'm certainly not reporting anyone if I see a slab get the wood shampoo...even if I may not be willing to chance it myself.