Radome angle

bpsuls

I am building a short tower for my radar on my Hewes Ocean Pro. What is a common angle for the radome so that it tilts in the right direction when on plane? Does anyone actually have theirs tilted or do you just go with 0 degrees? I'd like to build the angle into the tower instead of using shims. I was thinking 4 degrees. I currently have a temporary solution I've been using for a couple years and I think it is about 2-3 degrees (I just used washers on the back two bolts) and it works good. Curious to get feedback from others. Thanks!

4 degrees is the norm for most radar installs but I would be more concerned with getting it as high as possible. Proper installation plays a big role in maximizing the performance of marine radar domes.