Boat big enough for offshore?

iFish

Hey guys, I'm heading to Bamfield in a week and a half and I'm seeing that if we want to get into fish I'll have to go offshore.
I'm quite familiar with the inshore areas but have only been out to 20 mile once a number of years ago with a friend in his 25 Grady.
So my question is: Do you think I can comfortably fish offshore in my boat?
She is a complete rebuild 21 foot, plus pod so OAL is 23 1/2, she has a big beam of 102 inches, powered with a 225 four stroke yammy with an auxiliary 9.9 high thrust. I carry 60 USG of fuel so I have ample range to get out to Rats Nose.
For electronics I have VHF, and a HDS7 with navionics charts (no radar... Yet!). I'm not a newbie when it comes to boating, just not a lot of experience offshore. I have also taken the Power Squadron course, have VHF radio cert. and have been boating for over 40 years.
boat 2017.JPG
Since this picture was taken I have added a full enclosure vinyl top.

Last edited:
My $.02 (for what it is worth)...the boat will do just fine as long as the weather is suitable (i.e. it can get foggy and I don't see radar) but YOU need to be comfortable and confident in your abilities to get there and back safely.

My $.02 (for what it is worth)...the boat will do just fine as long as the weather is suitable (i.e. it can get foggy and I don't see radar) but YOU need to be comfortable and confident in your abilities to get there and back safely.
Yes... no radar. It's on my list of gadgets to get. I would be more comfortable if I had two mains, but the 225 runs like a dream and have total confidence in it. Just fishing for second opinions. :) As an aside, I have also taken the Power Squadron course and have been boating for over 40 years.
Thanks for the input.