High Tech Jigging

Bumping this thread. Looking to try this on a fishing trip this weekend

Does anyone know if I can find these Shimano Flat-fall Jigs in metro Vancouver? Been to Bass-pro, Wholesale, and nothing. Not tried smaller stores yet however.

Thanks in advance

Fred's in Abbotsford is where I found mine. Pricey but they work!

I was just going over some old threads and found this one. What a great tutorial thanks WW. I will be converted this year.

This is a great thread. I have no experience saltwater fishing but lots from jigging for walleye. Sounds very similar but with a lot more weight and deep!! The fish are a little bigger here too, lol. I actually picked up a couple of 6'3" med wt jigging rods to use for boat rods so sounds like they may be perfect to try this technique. I had the med heavy in my hand but thought it seemed a bit like a pool cue after coming from my freshwater days so opted for the lighter rods. It's stuff like this that make forums great. Thanks for sharing this Waterwolf

Thanks for this. have been trying to decide how to rig up for jigging with a lighter setup and this helps quite a bit. Appreciate your time and efforts here.

Yes, great thread. I really like to hear how other break down their technique in detail and describe the reasons why they do what they do. I believe I ran into you at PP last August Waterwolf. I'm heading over there next week with some new gear (thanks to your suggestions!).

If you are still monitoring this thread, or for others that are, I'm not into spending a few more hundred dollars on reels if I don't have to... I'm wondering if my Shimano Catala and Abu Garcia 6500 C3 will do the job on Shimano Trevala jig rods? I get they aren't ideal...

Trevor