Calm water salmon or halibut spots Oak Bay

Irishwolf

Crew Member
Hi there,

I’m new to the forum and new to saltwater fishing. I have a 14ft Lund deep hull with a modest set up for salmon fishing. I’ve been out a few times off Cattle Point but only managed to get to the flats one of those times because of rough water.

I tried again yesterday, but stupid me forgot to check the marine forecast.... needless to say I was met with a wall of whitecaps just past the marina plus a massive fishing trawler bearing down on me. :( While my boat can handle a bit of the rough, it's just not fun, nor safe. If I want to bounce around, I can do that on my kids trampoline. ;)

So we ended up drift fishing (bottom bouncing / jigging) across the front of Willows beach through to Caddy Bay where the water was calmer, but not a sniff of anything. Given I'm new to this, I have no idea if this was a good idea or not. I was marking, but not sure if these were fish or floaters of some sort.

So my questions is, is there anywhere within the protection of the Oak Bay islands that would be good for halibut or salmon ideally, but I just want to catch something especially if I have my kids with me. Or should I just not bother going out on windy days?

Any advice that you guys can offer would be super appreciated.

Cheers,
Chris

Last edited:
A great place to fish off Oak Bay is The Gap. You wont get halibut, and salmon are not exactly plentiful there but they are around and it's a spectacular spot on a sunny morning. At the turn to a flood, start just inside Commodore Point on Discovery and you can drift with the tide all the way up to the end of Baynes Channel. However, with kids in a 14' boat you definitely don't want to go out in anything more than 10 knots of wind or so.

Last edited:
I always thought the gap was between discovery and chain islets intersecting with Baynes Channel and Plumper passage.