Dummy flashers & tuna cord

donnie d

Hey all,

This could be a bit of a silly question, but I’m new to the tuna cord set up on the DRs. I mainly fish lakes until later in the summer and I’ve been running dummy lake troll flash off the ball and running a clip just above off the snubber snap. It has worked ok as there’s not a ton of movement on that type of flash. running a dummy flasher in the chuck, I obviously need to be much higher to allow the flasher to roll. Question is: Will my snap just stay put on the tuna cord or will it slide up? What do some of you guys do for this?

Will my snap just stay put on the tuna cord or will it slide up?

What do you mean by snap?

One of these?

Scotty+Trolling+Snaps+large+%231155.jpg

Or one of these-because this one will slide but the one shown above grabs the cord tight

rs.php

I clip my dummy flasher right above the ball. Let out 5' of tuna cord, then my release clip. Lure is about 5-8' behind the clip. Lots of room for the dummy flasher to roll.

Yes ,it will stay put.That is why we use gangion as well as for an automatic stop,usually 5-8 ft.long depending on your downrigger length.

Hey all,

This could be a bit of a silly question, but I’m new to the tuna cord set up on the DRs. I mainly fish lakes until later in the summer and I’ve been running dummy lake troll flash off the ball and running a clip just above off the snubber snap. It has worked ok as there’s not a ton of movement on that type of flash. running a dummy flasher in the chuck, I obviously need to be much higher to allow the flasher to roll. Question is: Will my snap just stay put on the tuna cord or will it slide up? What do some of you guys do for this?

Why not just run the dummy flashers like you have in freshwater? I'll sometimes clip onto the downrigger ball clip or the ball itself.