2017 Victoria and Oak Bay Reports

I hear you but this particular one had the genes for a 5 year old and should have therefore packed more meat on due to the longer ocean stay. The longer in the salt the bigger they grow. But it stayed as small as a 3 year old. My guess is food shortage.

I think you have to consider the genes involved. Unless they're selecting for large fish at the hatchery, you'll get a mix across the population that corresponds to the contributing parents' sizes. A few years back, it appears, such an approach was taken on the inside - Quinsam? I don't know details, sorry - and this year they had the best results in a long time at the Tyee Club: 44 tyee when I checked last. Coincidence?

That said, I have no knowledge of feed abundance "out there", and it is quite likely a factor.

Hi megabite :)

Hi I am away on vacation and looking at our web cams and it looks like a great day. I am looking forward to some winter fishing on my return. Any Fishing reports? I also wonder about prawning opportunities out front the last couple of crab traps Had at Willows had a few shrimp in them?
Tight lines
Tom

Thanks for the update! May I ask what depth you were finding them and what lures you were getting them to bite?
Cheers

Fished from 12:30 to 3:30 today. Grandson reeled in a 6lb hatchery Only hit of the day. Just off of brochie,,,near the bottom in 120ft of water.. Spoke to a guy who caught one, same size, same area but at 80ft.

Attachments

• IMG_4277.jpg
    IMG_4277.jpg
    174.7 KB · Views: 88
Saw a large Boston Walter at Constance a few weeks back with an islander logo on each side. Is islander reels doing fishing charters? Sure looked like they were keeping some awfully small fish... I'd be surprised if they were even legal.

Talked to a guy a couple of weeks ago he said islander bought a 30 Boston whaler with a couple big verados on the back and was going to start chartering