2015 Nootka Sound/Esperanza Inlet Reports

Hi FOJ & others. Enjoy these posts. Was curious when looking at Wind Wave & Weather what one considers good offshore vs poor offshore conditions for Bajo Reef. I'll be up in that area in August for a couple weeks. 18.5 foot Campion 542. Previous experience has me saying 15knts is about all I can handle in my boat but what about wind direction, wave height and wave direction for this area. Some pointers on what too be looking out for is appreciated.
I have a lot of experience at WH and Nootka and I am always leery of a SE or SW wind no matter how light cause invariably it is always a little stronger than forecast.It really kicks things up. NW is far more predictable.

Just driving home after 6 days of fishing out of zeballos. Split our time between inshore and offshore. Offshore was best at the T for us. Fish were tight to bottom. Had to fish a minimum of 260 on the DR counter to get hits. Pinicles was dead for salmon but good for Hali's. Picked up 3 real quick and had a barn door on that bent 2 barbs on a treble. I have pulled in some pretty big ones in my day but nothing ever almost pulled me over like this one did. Ferrer point was steady but our best spot was around catella. One little 2 minute troll pass area that had fish up to 30 pounds stacked for 2 days straight. To top it off I hooked this big one too.

dd5b0f1f84e70546826be8dd71412414.jpg

Going to get it cut out this afternoon. Wishing I had pinched the Barb prior to tiring the rig now.

I noticed they changed the coho retention to four coho per day, no need to check for clipped, at least along the coast, and inside waters.
When the Government makes changes such as allowing 4 fish per day, does it change the possession limit, also? Or if you catch four salmon in a day, are you pretty much done for the entire trip?