Trolling gear to start out with...

Franko Manini

Folks,
Pretty new to the forum, but lovin' it so far.

I've lived on Vancouver Island all my life, and I've done plenty of fishing off other people's boats. I know how to set up gear and run downriggers, etc. I just got my first "real" boat, and I am getting it set up for fishing out of Sooke. I managed to find a 2010 Thunderjet Luxor 20', with Suzuki 140 and 9.9 motors. The kicker has 28hrs on it, the main has 15. Anyway, I digress...

I have some experience fishing out of Sooke, Sidney, Oak Bay and the waterfront, and I mostly know where to go. What I don't know too much about is fishing with bait (getting the right roll, leader lengths,etc.). I was told by someone once that it might be better to get good at fishing spoons and other lures (ie Coho Killers) and then when I gain some confidence there, graduate to bait. So i am looking for some advice on basic setups for trolling such as recommended flashers, spoons, and leader lengths for springs. There are so many options out there that maybe catch fish but definitely catch fishermen that I want to avoid that and get just a few "old reliables" or "standards". I am sure there will be 1000 options, but maybe there will be a general concensus of start with these 3 flashers, or these hootchies, etc. I would appreciate any suggestions. I know I have lots to learn.

Secondly, I have kinda narrowed my selection of rods down to either the Shimano Talora or the Fenwich Eagle GT HMX. Does anyone have any suggestions on good downrigger rods?

I will finish installing my Scotty electrics tonight, and I hope to be on the water this weekend or early next week for a shake down crusie with a bit of fishing tossed in.

Thanks in advance for any tips.

lures start with green and white glow and not glow and black and white to will get you started,flashers red and green glow and not glow