Sighting in a rifle

michael_reiber

Hey guys not sure how many of you are into shooting but figured it would be worth a shot! I am just getting into it started out with a 12 gauge for clays and a .22 and a sks just all for fun shooting. I got my core this year and have started to try to get into hunting. I just picked up a 30-06 2 weeks ago and have just been getting used to it at the range. Ive decided I'm going to need something to help me sight it in and I have my eye on a Caldwell lead-sled at Cabelas. Does anyone have experience with these? I am open to suggestions if there is a better way to sight in a gun. Ive tried sighting it in on a bench at the range twice and just couldn't get good grouping once i moved to 100 yards. One guy suggested the gun may not like the ammo so I am going to pick up some different ammo tomorrow and give it a try.

Lead sled I am looking at:https://www.cabelas.ca/product/96552/caldwell-lead-sled-plus-3-shooting-rest

For reference the gun is a MossBerg Patriot 30-06 with a Vortex crossfire scope. Its a pretty cheap starter gun but had heard good reviews so it seemed like a good gun to start out with and just get my feet wet!

Cheers,
Mike

Relax and squeeze that trigger! Won't have a bench rest in the bush!

Yes but he still needs to get it on target to start..

the lead sleds are good for the range and getting more accurate groups. if you’re just getting into hunting and shooting some of the larger caliber guns can really boom and make you “flinch.” at the range. it is a very very common problem with new shooters and experienced. don’t know you from Adam, but i suspect this might be part of the problem.