Plugs

Brett83

I'm going up to Tofino fishing on Tuesday. Someone mentioned I should try a plug. I've done a lot of fishing and only ever run a plug as a last ditch effort. Never caught anything. They looks cool and have nice action in the water. How do you choose size and colour? I would probably run one that looks like a herring aid. But size? Would you try and match the area bait? Does anyone have days that plugs out preform anchovies or hoochie? I was talking to a guide yesterday and he never uses plugs locally in Vancouver but said they're more popular on northern Vancouver Island. As a carpenter I love the idea of using wood to catch salmon.

Plugs are a funny thing. i’ve had days fishing plugs where i get no love ; then i’ve had days where they are so lethal i think they should be banned. i always thought CR was a plug town; i think the powell river boys take the cake. those guys are hardcore plug addicts. as far as size i ry and match the bait size. the bait around CR right now is quite large so i’m dragging large plugs. Herring aid plug is 645 i think. 191iirvp is a good one.also 700G but you’ll never go wrong with 602 tubby.

I'm going up to Tofino fishing on Tuesday. Someone mentioned I should try a plug. I've done a lot of fishing and only ever run a plug as a last ditch effort. Never caught anything. They looks cool and have nice action in the water. How do you choose size and colour? I would probably run one that looks like a herring aid. But size? Would you try and match the area bait? Does anyone have days that plugs out preform anchovies or hoochie? I was talking to a guide yesterday and he never uses plugs locally in Vancouver but said they're more popular on northern Vancouver Island. As a carpenter I love the idea of using wood to catch salmon.
I commercial trolled out of tofino for many years if I had to choose one plug I would get a tomic 600 plug in 5 inch just remembered that you need to troll fast