Best way to attach a cannon ball

Doubletyee

I have been ocean fishing for over 30 years but everything is self taught or something I have read up on. I was wondering what is the best and most economical way to attach a cannon ball to a downriver with wire on it. I am sure that there a lot of ways to do it but looking for the easiest, fastest and most economical. I just put on a rubber stopper and then two connectors and then crimp but I am sure there are much better ways. I have never used the rubber snubbers as they are expensive and don’t see the advantage if your careful and don’t drop the ball. Thanks for your tips.

Am I reading this wrong? Do you always have a cannon ball connected to your downrigger line instead of having a connector at the end?

GI5wDrT.jpg

The heavy cord is easy on the hands and it has some stretch to cushion things.

same as above but i attach the downrigger clip direct to the same piece of hardware that attaches to the cannon

I used paracord from Amazon. I made up two sets one for stacking and one for singles.

This is my old set-up, the new one is similar but the single green cord is replaced with a long loop. Also hook and snubber have been replaced with the loop that just passes though the eye of cannonball and dropped back though. No stoppers to worry about, the knot on the loop becomes the stopper. No losing release clips and they are out of the water when netting fish.

IMG_3928.JPG IMG_3929.JPG IMG_3930.JPG IMG_3931.JPG IMG_3932.JPG

This is my old set-up, the new one is similar but the single green cord is replaced with a long loop. Also hook and snubber have been replaced with the loop that just passes though the eye of cannonball and dropped back though. No stoppers to worry about, the knot on the loop becomes the stopper. No losing release clips and they are out of the water when netting fish.

View attachment 55285 View attachment 55286 View attachment 55287 View attachment 55288 View attachment 55289