Prawn traps - - - - GONE

AndrewH

Well it looks like they got me, two of my three sets disappeared today. I have been dropping in same area for 2-3 years and never an issue until today. Happened betweeen 12:45 and 3:45.

South side of Passage Island 280ft of water, 450ft of line and plenty of weight.

stolen/missing:

Two sets - both with large scotchman, 450ft of line, 12lb cannon ball, 2 heavy commie traps

In total I guess it is about $700 to replace which I don't have :(

****** sorry man. I've had too much trouble in that location to bother leaving them there anymore.

Years ago I caught a turd lifting a trap of mine... Between my fishing partner and myself we persuaded him that was not a good thing to do. But I learned a lesson too. I never leave traps out of sight for more than 1/2 hr. No trouble since. I hope someone here can help you with donated gear.

Perhaps caught in the log tug mentioned below? Copied from the reports section. Assume you aren't the "idiot" referenced....

"CottonscrapsNew Member

Anybody else hear the idiot who dropped his traps in front of a log tug by passage island on the coast guard channels today? Sounded like: Tug was doing 1.5kn with a three string wide tow, laid on the horn. After “Salmon Shark” (or something)dropped traps in front of him and decided to not move them the tug ran them over in slow motion. this guy gets all over the radio, threatening to sue, claiming the tug should have gone around. I love the peanut gallery that chimed in anonymously “first nice day of the year and the crazy’s come out”. Anyway, PSA...mind the Navigational channels when dropping traps. Tips up!"

Perhaps caught in the log tug mentioned below? Copied from the reports section. Assume you aren't the "idiot" referenced....

"CottonscrapsNew Member