1st Trip: Bella Bella or Rivers Inlet (with guests)?

AKMary

I've got all summer to run my trawler up to the Rivers Inlet/Bella Bella area.
This is my first time this far north and I'd like to take plenty of time to explore and soak in the area.

Guests start arriving mid-July and I'll have them onboard for about 10 days at a time, through late August. We'll be anchored out most nights and will use the 13' Whaler to fish and explore.

My guests will be flying in and have yet to make reservations. Our options are to fly into RI, BB or Shearwater.

My boat averages 8 kts - would it be reasonable to pick up on one end, say Rivers Inlet, and drop off at Bella Bella? I'd then then drift the opposite direction with the next crew.

I don't have a good feel for travel times up there & my concern is spending too much time running the cruiser and not enough time fishing & relaxing.

Of the 3, which location would historically have better fishing? Chinook, coho, sockeye (though I haven't read much about sockeye in these areas) and halibut/lingcod are the usual suspects. Plus some prawning and crab as available.

Advice and tips with a slow boat in mind would be much appreciated.
Thanks!
Mary

Mary;
It would be approx. a 9 hr. cruise from Dawsons Landing in Rivers Inlet to Shearwater or Bella Bela ( their right next to each other) at 8 kts. Dawsons would be the best place in Rivers Inlet for you to tie up and the float planes come right to your dock. The Chinook fishing will be happening at Rivers. Read the regulations carefully. Coho wont begin until Sept.