Winter Harbour Advice

Whole in the Water

Planning a trip this summer up to Winter Harbour with 3 buddies. Only place on the west coast of the island I haven't fished, so I am a newbie on this.

Looking for any advice from this forum on when to go for good chinook fishing and bottom fishing.

Specifically looking for good times to go (plan on fishing 4 days sometime in July-Aug.), places offshore and inshore to go and how deep to fish for springs (heard you may need to fish deep up there). Also any good prawning up there?

Any advice on what lures/bait to use also appreciated. Thanks.

Last edited:
Done a few trips up there from mid-June/mid-July. Never August. We were hitting fish both times. It has some inshore places like Kains lighthouse or zip over to Cliffe Pt. Those are good places to go when the weather is up outside. If it's nice/you're able, you can go north to Lippy Pt/Grants Bay, topknot (watch for the RCA), or south towards Lawn Pt or further. Fish can be inshore/offshore so just have to ask around and figure out where they're catching them. Or follow them out. One year the fish were all in at the lighthouse, another year they were offshore. As far as gear goes, you gotta match the hatch. Last year we did best on white hootchies/bait, then a few weeks later it was brown turds/bait. The year before it was skinny g's. Bottom fishing is pretty good around there too as there's lots of rock piles, humps, reefs for your ling/hali. I'd make sure you have a decender device aboard to send the yelloweyes back down. Look at your charts and look for banks/piles. Big white swim baits worked best for us jigging.

Not much to say on depth, the Highway is the same Highway that goes all down the island.
You only get a choice as to troll direction if it is zero wind.
N2013 described the 2 inside spots, they are pretty shallow fishing, like most 'inlet' fisheries.
There will be boats at all these places, one of them will be me.