2018 Haida Gwaii Reports

Anybody got any trips booked up there this year yet? I'm going for my first time June 29th at langara island lodge. Hoping it's going to be amazing!

I am at Hippa Island June 14th. Hope its as good as it was last year.

Does the Langara Lodge supply descending devises to the guest who are self guided? Also do the guides use them?

I was happy to see WCR using them last year in every boat.

Will be at peregrine working last two weeks of July , then at qcl about a month later as a guest, looking forward to it!

Does the Langara Lodge supply descending devises to the guest who are self guided? Also do the guides use them?

Not sure about that as it's my first time going

yes langara lodge does supply descending devices with there boats..they have a fishing rod rigged just for that..... At this point I believe most of the major lodges do have them.. if you guys over the summer find lodge that are not let me know... cheers

I go up to Lanagara (North Island Lodge) every year and go self-guided ... it's a blast ... great spot. Send me a note if you need any other info.

Looking forward to it. I spoke to a guy last week who guides up at QCl. He says the Chinook are there just not the crazy volumes that can come early season yet. He said they are like last year at this time. Deep and on bottom. They are feeding heavy on Needle fish (sandlance).

Hopefully the fish show up & also the bait. (Fingers crossed)

A friend of mine is fishing out of Masset with Naden Lodge this week. He leaves tomorrow. I will give an update once he passes it along

My goal is to get a monster lingcod this year. I will be trying live bait, but also made up some big swimbaits. This one is 18” long

Attachments

• 059D7003-4A36-4612-AD07-5585932A1AE2.jpeg
    059D7003-4A36-4612-AD07-5585932A1AE2.jpeg
    668.6 KB · Views: 90
I have him packed already! I have that one and the hot rod version packed

Last edited: