FishDoc

Catching Chum and Coho Salmon on the Vedder River in British Columbia with the Piscifun Torrent Baitcasting Reel. This is my first year really starting to get into river fishing for salmon. The prior two years I had pretty dismal success. This year things are starting to make sense and I'm catching the odd Salmon. I've been using the Piscifun Reels including the Honor Spinning reel and the Torrent Baitcaster. The Torrent is mounted on a Angler SS float rod 10'6" that I have spooled with 20 pound Power Pro braided line. Today the guys fishing around me were catching salmon floating roe, but I didn't have any. So I tied on a pink Bent Rods Jig below the float and the action started quick with a nice male chum and then soon after a great wild Coho salmon.

I hope you enjoy the vid.

Last edited:
I don't know what New Pollution means either so you are not alone, I assume its not nice though. That is a pretty booty chum in the video, it sounds like you were still going to bonk it?

That's what I'm thinking too California.

Yeah I bonked that chum. I had never kept a river chum before so it was my little experiment to keep him to see how he tasted since I've heard negative things but like forming my own opinion. The video makes it look much darker then it really was cause the lighting was so terrible that day. I smoked him up and actually tastes great to me. I bonked a pretty fresh female a few days later and smoked them both together. I really can't tell the difference.

Picture of female chum I bonked.
https://www.instagram.com/p/Bbd52UcDQU9/?taken-by=thefishingdoctorsadventures