Leader and hooks for halibut rig

Daveroo

I'm preparing a couple of halibut spreader bar rigs for Nootka. What do most people use for the leader? Mono versus steel? 100lb, 130lb or 150lb? I see YouTubes with tandem singles, I've also see trebles, and I've see singles. Any feedback is appreciated.

I usually buy pre-made mono leader rigs with circle hooks. Having some kind of tube shielding for the mono near the hook helps with nicks and scratches in the line. Shouldnt cost more than 5 or 10 bucks per rig depending on the gauge, which is nearly as cheap as you could put one together with your own supplies.

I make my own out of 500# mono as halibut are not leader shy. Pretty inexpensive to get some 500# leader material and a crimper.

I make the whole spreader bar out of mono like in this picture.

Attachments

• 500 pound mono spreaderb.jpg
    500 pound mono spreaderb.jpg
    257.7 KB · Views: 226
Last edited:
I am no expert but my experience has been that steel leaders get kinked up and won't stay straight after run-ins with dogfish. For that reason I switched to mono.

I use 150 with a uni knot to a treble at the bottom and a crimp to stop a sliding single and then a loop knot at the top.

Thanks for the feedback. On a related note I just realized I am short one bottom fishing rod for this trip. I have a sturgeon setup already which I am thinking of using for halibut. Any reason why I shouldn't do this? I loathed to buy another rod and reel this week , I've spent enough on tackle already this year.

Any winch (rod and reel) will work for hali. Just some are easier on the fisherman than others.
Sturgeon Set up should be great! (you owe me a Sturgeon trip for the advise. Bucket list fishery for me)

I use 80 lb mono with tandem size 9 singles. I'm sporting.

Good Luck!

We use 80 lb mono, just make sure your leader is shorter then the arm on your spreader bar or it will tangle on tide changes.

I've seen guides using white gangion even