Your thoughts on a new Engine

flytyer

Looking to repower a 21foot 2002 trophy, have a chance on an 07 optimax. Pulling off a 120 piece of junk. only diff is the weight, will add an extra 60lbs.

So here it is. lets hear all the good about this and yes the bad.

[8D][8D]

I would say Yamaha 150 4-stroke. A buddy of mine has that setup and its pretty sweet!

Repowered our 21 foot trophy this past spring and went with a 150 Yamaha 4 stroke. The engine works very well.

Cloud

Just to add to this topic, sounds like most people are opting for the 4 strokes over the new 2 strokes, any reason why? Reliability, maintenance, fuel efficiency etc...

i am not an expert on engines...but i have found the 4 stroke to be better on fuel, quieter ( esp at lower/trolling speed ), no oil to worry about, and no oil smell when the engine is operating.

Cloud

I don't know much about the new 2 strokes (i.e. 2nd gen HPDI models, etc). Personally I wouldn't get one because they haven't been out long enough to know their reliability. Historically 4 strokes, while heavier, have more longevity then 2 strokes as the the power stroke is every 4 strokes, not 2 like a 2 stroke. Just my 2 bits.

Sharp hooks and full traps!

Is the 4 stroke that much better a motor when you look a the price differance.The extra price of a 4 stroke can buy a lot of gas plus the extra maintance{oil changes and filters}. As a main motor that doesn't see as many hours as a kicker.Any comments.