Im fixin to get a new smoker: Advice wanted.

Birdsnest

I've been using true north smokers for many years but have decided to move on due the the lack of temp control specifically getting into the higher temps required.
I like the looks of the smokers that take the puck chips but not sure I want to commit to pucks due to the cost and I like to harvest my own wood for my smoking endeavours.
Any advice would be appreciated.

Just a thought, if your into doing your own mods. If your looking for more heat you could get a propane BBQ side burner and put it in place of your electric element. They can easily be found for free when people throw out their propane BBQ's. Lot's of mods documented on some smoking forums. You could use it in combination with a pellet smoker tube to do both hot and cold smoking. Looks like a good Canadian smoker that could easily be altered to fit your needs with a little modification.

I've got a masterbuilt. I use it in conjunction with a pellet smoker and really like it. Side by side to a bradly I'd say fit and finish is nicer on the masterbuilt.

Long story short, I have a little chief smoker whose heater element died. It is an older model and the newer style replacement element isn't compatible. With a little bit of modification I replaced the element with a hot plate from XS Cargo for about 12 bucks. It takes a bit of getting used to but the rheostat switch on the hot plate means you can adjust the heat of the hot plate from barely warm to red hot. A note of caution, too high a setting will result in the smoker chips bursting into flame, not so good for smoked fish. A little trial and error and you'll figure out what settings work.XS Cargo is no more but Walmart sells one for $15