centerpin casting

ive really been improving at my centerpin casting but am curious about some of the specialized casting videos ive seen on utube like the whallis cast... anyone know what im talking about ... looks good for tight in he bush

Wallis casting takes time but you can nearly triple your distance once you master. It is better to use a lighter reel with a fast start-up if you want it to be most effective.
I've been using a pin since the late 80's and still use a side cast 90% of the time.

What reel are you using?

I'm also new with a centerpin and am wondering a little bit about the casting and for any advice on Silex reels. I am using an older Silex (it just says "The Silex") which I am told needs to be worked in. After spinning the reels for hours while watching tv, I would say that it spins better but not nearly as long as some i've seen online. Is that normal with a Silex? or should this reel be spinning for a few minutes like come pin reels do?

I've only fished once with it and I used the whallis cast the whole time (which doesnt seem right). This was the only cast I could get to work likely because of inexperience but I also thought maybe because the reel isnt spinning well enough?? my side casts were awful!!

I plan on fishing steelhead with it quiet a bit this fall/winter. The one time I used it was for coho and I was lucky enough to tie into a few. very fun!!

I have it loaded with 20lb maxima (which i'm thinking is a bit heavy) and am using a sage 3113mb. Any advice would be appreciated, I'm totally new with this.

I've used a 3113mb and Silex for almost 40 years and it is still one of my favorite combo's for bigger water. Use a larger float and load it up with lead for easier casting untill you get the hang of things. it's all about the release timing. That reel will never spin as easy as some of the other brands on the market but you will learn to love it