19' double eagle

montymbad

Hey guys, I just bought a 19' Double eagle hardtop, with a 302 and volvo 280 leg. The leg was rebuilt right before it was parked 8 years ago. I turned the prop by hand and it feels fine, there are no rough spots or hard turning its smooth as silk. What do I need to look at on the leg for problems? Its a power trim unit. Its also only been in salt water once about 15 years ago, fresh water all the rest of its life. I have to rebuild the motor, so next question is what kind of hp should I be looking at for the boat. It probably will see salt water once or twice a year at most. I was toying with the idea of finding a 4cyl diesel for in it. I checked the hull of the boat, and the floor and everything seems good, I will be able to check more when I pull the floor and check the fuel tank. Sorry for the long post but Im very new to boating this is my first boat. thanks
Ryan

Sounds like a great boat. I have had 2 302 ford inboards and found them to be fuel efficient and powerful.Not as common as a chev but way better than the 351 fords. As for the leg check the gear oil, the u-joints and gimble bearing. The leg should be removed to re-install the engine so you can align it.

I have a Sangster 20' with pretty much the same set-up. My 302 has a 4bbl carb though. After running all summer I have found that it is actually fairly fuel efficient(even compared to the guide boats). Running out to the sw corner Ukee (14-17nm) cost around $70 in gas. Running no more than 3500 rpm and speeds around 20 knots (guide boats run 23-27 knots at 4000+ rpm on big Suzuki o/b, and that runs them $70-$110/trip).
Out to Thrasher from Nanaimo and back around $40 at a good clip.
I recently changed to a 25p prop and now cruise at 22+knots at 3500 rpm. Top speed around 30 knots at 4000 rpm. It will go 4200 rpm.
If you don't have electronic ignition make the switch, as well as fresh water cooling.