140 Suzuki 4 Stroke vs 150 Yamaha 4 Stroke

I'm a suzuki fan, I've had four 140's and never any problems. A 2003 (johnson), twins on a lifetimer and a 2015 on my weldcraft. The 03 is still running and it's been run hard. I don't know anything about Yamahas.

I have an 06 Johnson 140 4 stroke, same motor as Suzuki build in same plant I am told. Like the motor, 600 hrs and only minor issues. Injector needed replacing=rusty. I have had no experience with Yamaha, tons of best and worst stories. Who to believe?

HM

I have twin 150 Yammi's, 2006 in my Grady. Just broke 3000 hours in them without any serious issues.

Minor stuff like thermostats, implellars, plugs, other than that they have been amazing engines

I also have two sets of 225 Suzuki's, one set has 2500 hours, other has a 1000.

Same with these engines, nothing major to report besides minor maintenance

In my decision on engines it would and did depend on your local dealer for any maintenance or work you may need done on it. Nice to get it done close to home

Best of luck

Cheers

I have 2 sons,one has a 542 Campion with a 140 Suzuki and the other has a 185 Double Eagle with a 150 Yamaha.Both run very well and are quiet at low RPM,but the Yamaha is much quieter and faster at higher RPM.My son with the Suzuki would rather have a Yamaha for the noise factor alone.They both have been around for a while and have solid reputations.

I just bought the Suzuki 140 and had the same issue deciding. Came down to $$$ and weight. The 150 yamaha was $3000-$4000 more and weighed 80 lbs more or was it 100lb ? for 10 more hp. It came with the 3+3 warranty or $1500 cash back. So i now have 6 yr warranty. Can't say about noise as i had a 140 2 stroke so anything 4 stroke is quiet. Buddies have Yamaha's and they are a great motors and thats what i wanted but it came down to cash and warranty. My 2 cents.